Alumni Hall of Fame

The Defense Information School (DINFOS) Hall of Fame honors distinguished alumni, living or deceased, who have made extraordinary and lasting contributions at the highest levels in public service, industry, the military or academia for at least 20 years. Nominees may come from the fields of public affairs, public relations, communication strategy, print, broadcast or photojournalism, graphic arts, visual information, photography, videography, broadcast engineering & maintenance, multimedia, entertainment, diplomatic service, organizational leadership, humanitarian work, and training & education. Candidates must be separated or retired from military service (all components) for at least 1 year.
Both U.S. and international graduates may be nominated.

DINFOS accepts nominations on a year-round basis. For the purposes of selection, the nomination window closes March 31st. Any nominations submitted after this date will be considered the following year.

DINFOS Hall of Fame Criteria

To be considered a Hall of Fame candidate, an individual’s nomination should clearly demonstrate:

  • Superior service and achievement in the nominee’s respective field(s); nominations should highlight merits of the accomplishments and may also highlight previous awards and honors
  • Significant impact of professional contributions at the organizational, local, regional, national or international levels
  • Outstanding leadership, character, values & ethical conduct 

   * DINFOS accepts nominations for alumni from Service schools prior to the establishment of DINFOS in 1964 as well as schools that consolidated with DINFOS in the late 1990s (e.g. The Defense Visual Information School, the Defense Photography School, U.S Naval Schools of Photography).

How To Nominate

Nominations for the Class of 2024 are now closed. 

During open nomination season, a Hall of Fame Nomination Form must be filled in with basic info on the nominee as well as the nominator’s contact information. Self-nominations will not be accepted. 
Nominators will submit a 2-page (max) nomination letter describing the nominee’s professional contributions, paying special attention to the selection criteria listed above.
(Optional) Nominators may also provide additional supporting material in the form of the nominee’s resume/CV, official biography, examples of the nominee’s work, and other letters of recommendation. Nomination forms, nomination letters and supporting documents must be submitted via email to prior to the closing date.

Selection Results

DINFOS will announce selections for the Hall of Fame in May, after nominations close, as well as all the details about the ceremony,.
Please send any questions about nomination guidelines to

Hall of Fame recipients

The following is an alphabetical listing of DINFOS Hall of Fame recipients:

William Armstrong (2022)
Tanya Bradsher (2023)
John Burlage (2022)
John Roswell Camp (2012)
H.G. "Jerry" Dalton, Jr. (2023)
Steve Doig (2012)
Dale Dye (2022)
James L. Gilbert (2021)
Robert T. Hastings (2022)
LouAnne Johnson (2012)
Emma Krouser (2022)
Julian B. Lovell (2019) International
Walter Mondale (2012)
Clarence Page (2012)
Paula L. Pedene (2022)
Stacy L. Pearsall (2023)
Les Payne (2012)
Glenn Proctor (2023)
G.A. Redding (2021)
Mark V. Rosenker (2021)
Kathleen Rhem (2023)
John Roswell Camp (2012)
T.L. McCreary (2021)
Thomas "Clark" Taylor (2022)
Sukumal Weswongsatip (2019) International

Hall of Fame Nomination Form

2022 Hall of Fame Inductees

2021 Hall of Fame Inductees

2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

2012 Hall of Fame Inductees